What I Do Not Need…Now

There are phrases we use that show our state of mind…

FrustrationWe’ve all used them. In moments of frustration and exasperation. Those pent-up phrases of some by gone era pop into our mind and before we can march them back into the trash can, they slip by the guard over our tongue and we utter some of the most senseless nonsense!

  • Don’t give me no back talk!
  • Don’t get me going!
  • Get off my back!
  • I’ll bite your head off!
  • Look whose righteous now!
  • Quit or I’ll blow a head gasket! (Or I’ll blow my top!)
  • I have a bone to pick with you!
  • I’ll come down like a ton of bricks on you!
  • For crying out loud….
  • Cut it out!
  • Drive me up a wall.
  • I’m fit to be tied.

Some folks are better at these than I am, but I must confess they have passed over my lips at various times.

Early this morning, a bevy of thoughts came down the pike of my mind. Unlike Paul, I was not able to bring into captivity every thought flying through my brain (2 Corinthians 10:5)! A thought would flash and I would turn to the bookshelf to grab a volume, while along the way another thought would flash and I flip through a stack to find something, and then another flash of thinking would make me turn to my printer to get something from yesterday… Splat! Another thought makes me….

Well, you get the idea. One thing after another, and instead of being in control, I follow the path of least resistance and do the next thing my mind thinks of … all the while I forget what I first started out to handle.

This is when you fall back on old sayings and fuss at yourself! Hence, a different pathway of thinking about old sayings, and Voila! I’m at the keyboard!

To make sense of this, a scripture popped into my mind while thinking this through.

A good man out of the good treasure of his heart brings forth good; and an evil man out of the evil treasure of his heart brings forth evil. For out of the abundance of the heart his mouth speaks. (Luke 6:45 NKJV)

A teaching of Jesus that is embedded among many one-liners and short thoughts. By itself it is used for all manners of instruction, and from these simple teachings we develop habits and traits. Not to take it only out of context, we must also look at the entire teaching set and find the over arching thought.

What was the entire teaching set of Jesus? We find this one-liner in the Be-attitudes! You know, that famous teaching time when Jesus say on the edge of the hill overlooking the Sea of Galilee while hundreds and thousands sat in that natural amphitheater to hear his wisdom. His manner of teaching and preaching drew many listeners, naysayers, and devious planners looking for his down fall.

Think about those one-liners above. We use them, or others, without even considering their source or original purpose. We call them colloquial phrases, or something like that, often meaning we may not really know where they came from but we keep them alive! Generation after generation!

A tweet this morning from a contact of mine:

@ “85% of wealthy people read 2 or more education, career-related, or self-improvement books per month.” – Unknown

This does not apply to only “wealthy”, but also to great leaders and great followers. Because a follower is a leader to someone else.

Why mention this? If I keep filling my mind and heart with better information, these one-liners will eventually be wiped out with new thoughts and better responses. We keep these old things alive by not applying new thinking into our processes. This is not to discount those valuable sayings that mean something across the span of time! Rather, some are tied to a portion of someone’s life way back in the past and do not apply today.

2016-05-14 08.09.54So. As I turned to the bookshelf this morning I found several books that I have not read recently that were impactful in the past. As I prod my mind with better reading habits, my words and actions adapt to be in tune with my diet of reading material.

So I grab these two books, dust them off and prepare to challenge my mind again! One is old and has a deep understanding of spiritual growth, and the other is newer and very much in tune with the ministry of Jesus in the format of his preaching and teaching style – challenging me to be a leader like he was!

Next week? New one-liners and phrases! I betcha!!

Leave a Reply

