Summation of Life

Ever looked back over your calendar of events for a time period?

2016-05-15 21.34.16For a personal reason I looked over the previous 18 months and documented some events I have been apart of. Not every activity was necessary to analyze, but when my schedule becomes crowded then I look for the things that are perhaps interfering and slowing me down.

Along the way, I take the time to review my priorities and goals. Am I going in the correct direction? What changes are required? Where do I need to refocus? Who or what is taking too much of my time? What should I be picking up? Dropping? Where are my downtime’s schedule? Do we have loose ends that need to be addressed?

2016-05-15 21.34.11The questions can be endless, but the asking helps to bring everything into crystal focus.

It seems the lens  review helps to note then angles of my life. The Micro View drills down to the smallest detail. The Macro View focuses on the bigger picture.

Not only is my personal world coming into better focus (and you should be doing this periodically), but it helps to know where and how my family, financial, business and church fit into the personal picture.

This includes my social media presence, and influence. What have I been spending time on that is necessary and productive? What needs to change, if anything at all?

So, I grabbed my past few weeks of Twitter postings and used them as a barometer. Here’s my past 24 hours… What do you think?

  • How far can you throw your life away? Further than you can imagine. We were built for purpose, do not waste with bad throw. #KnowYourPurpose
  • “If I had to pick just one quality, it would be taking complete and full responsibility for your life.” ~Matt Mayberry
  • Life has ups and downs. Just like any day, any hour, or any minute. Don’t get comfortable w/life, it does not stay the same! #RollWithIt!
  • Isa 50:7 For the Lord GOD will help me; therefore shall I not be confounded: therefore have I set my face like a flint…
  • If we journaled more of our thoughts instead of socializing them, we could write a future self-help book from the lessons we learn. #Private
  • Sometimes the toughest job is handled by the person who toughens up in a needed moment, but dreads the repercussions of remembrance of act.
  • We live in an era where tough jobs are handed off to a “professional” instead of doing it ourselves. We become wimps when we must act.
  • Do you receive advice from people who receive advice from someone you cannot trust? Think about who your advisors are and what they share.
  • Q: What am I thinking about? (What a day that will be… One of these days and it won’t be long… In the twinkling of an eye… ) Answer?
  • You gain no advantage trying to lift weights you are incapable of handling. Begin with what you can handle and train for bigger challenges!
  • That strange time when you notice life takes away more than it gives. The older I get, the balance I see of losing more than getting.

If my communication is anything like I think it is, then what I am sharing might have some value for someone. I know it does for me! At the very least I am putting these postings all into my database for a future book. And teaching point. And preaching message. And an example of how I want my life to be lived.

Too much of what I see in social media is a complete waste of my time. And yours. If the truth be known. If we would only change our purpose… If our communication could only be like the Apostle Paul as he writes to Philemon.

Grace to you and peace from God our Father and the Lord Jesus Christ. I thank my God, making mention of you always in my prayers, hearing of your love and faith which you have toward the Lord Jesus and toward all the saints, that the sharing of your faith may become effective by the acknowledgment of every good thing which is in you in Christ Jesus. For we have great joy and consolation in your love, because the hearts of the saints have been refreshed by you, brother.  (Philemon 1:3-7 NKJV)

What you say, and what you do, needs to have purpose. For Paul to not that the “…hearts of the saints have been refreshed by you…” tells me that our purpose needs to be all about positively effecting others.

What’s your purpose? Are you accomplishing it?

Leave a Reply

