Sometimes We Have To Change Definitions

I’m Just Saying…

TrustOften the meaning of words of our youth no longer have the same meaning. At least in this present world, tomorrow it may revert. Who knows…

But you know what I mean. A good example is when someone says “bad” they actually mean “good”… A worse example is our use of “awful” as meaning something is terrible, but the word originally meant to “inspire awe”.

We struggle with definitions of common words every day. When someone asks what something means we resort to our mobile phones to look up on online definition, even when we can describe it with examples. Try to explain a concept and it gets even more difficult. Now there are even more words that need to be defined.

This made me question where I get my understanding of words from!

When someone calls me their “friend”, or they say they “respect” me, but their actions do not match my definition or understanding of the words, then I wonder from whom did they learn the meanings of these words? Am I wrong in my definition? Do I change the meaning of the word to suit everyone else?

I’m Just Saying.

Words are tools, and when understood and used properly, they accomplish what their definitions intend. But when we misuse the words, or change their meanings, then it is surprising anything positive happens.

We have all been victims, yet I pray never perpetrators, of letting our words not be equal to the meaning as intended, nor our actions speaking different than the word we are speaking. It seems to be folly and creates divisiveness and confusion.

Solomon speaks to this a little.

Dead flies putrefy the perfumer’s ointment, And cause it to give off a foul odor; So does a little folly to one respected for wisdom and honor. (Ecclesiastes 10:1 NKJV)

Just like dead flies cause the perfume to putrefy, so does one respected for wisdom and honor fail when exhibiting a little folly.  When actions and words do not equal each other, then even God grows weary of your speech.

You have wearied the LORD with your words; “Yet you say, “In what way have we wearied Him?” In that you say, “Everyone who does evil Is good in the sight of the LORD, And He delights in them,” Or, “Where is the God of justice?” (Malachi 2:17 NKJV)

Your actions do not equal your words!

ReputationThink about your reputation for a while. Our reputation leaves behind a smell, either good or bad, that lingers long after our exit. If a reputation is bad, then everything left behind will be tainted. If a reputation is good, then the odor of our passing will be a lingering pleasant reminder of your stay.

Your words and actions are often the first visible clues of the our reputation. I love to prove others wrong by giving someone plenty of opportunity to make sure their reputation is not flawed, even when more wiser and elder folks tell me nothing good will come out of the connection. Still, I want to give everyone a chance to prove everyone wrong.

I hope others will do the same for me.

I’m Just Saying…

 

Leave a Reply

