A Favorite Tree

Growing up we always had a favorite tree.

2016-05-31 18.36.19I suspect everywhere I lived there was always a favorite tree. The right size, right color, right brand. Growing up, it must have a big limb for a rope swing, or easy to climb. Growing older it must provide shade and separation from neighbors. Growing tired, it must simply need nothing in return.

This tree was planted about 10 years ago and is my wife’s favorite tree. We have planted over 150 trees and bushes here at our homestead. Each was bought with excitement, planted with hope, and enjoyed for it’s purpose.

All around us, folks are clearing their lots for homes and yards, and probably for the money some of those ancient trees will bring. I’m at a point in my life where I do not want to cut down a single tree, and every time I see a lot cleared my heart aches for the the falling.

Why get sentimental for a tree? It may represent something special, even something of longevity. But where there is one tree to be groomed for the future, there are thousands available to be planted.

This made me think about those special things we hang onto in life. As mom and dad age, so she says, things do not mean as much. They keep compressing their belongings down to manageable levels for their life. As you age you will lose your belongings. . It is inevitable. You cannot take them with you!

The things that will always mean more for me will be the memories, and the memories I get from specific things I chose to hold onto. I’ve noted them at times in my writings and will not digress today.

But this brings me to those things we should consider special enough to hold onto but time and distance separate us from them, except maybe for our memories. What things are these?

Family. Friends.

A friend texted today from another country. Another from a state I used to live in. I chatted with my sister in Alaska, and emailed back and forth with my brothers in Texas. Some friends have remarked on my social media postings, while others liked my various blog posts. To each one that chooses to connect with me, I thank you. Each of you are very special.

My connections are important. Over the years I’ve purposefully dropped some “friends” for various reasons that are known only to me. Others can read between the lines and figure out for themselves. Still, for all of those that have kept me as a connection. Thank you. It is special to know I am a connection.

Among you are some favorites… Just like those trees.

Blessed is the man
Who walks not in the counsel of the ungodly,
Nor stands in the path of sinners,
Nor sits in the seat of the scornful;
But his delight is in the law of the LORD,
And in His law he meditates day and night.
He shall be like a tree
Planted by the rivers of water,
That brings forth its fruit in its season,
Whose leaf also shall not wither;
And whatever he does shall prosper.
(Psalms 1:1-3 NKJV)

 

Leave a Reply

