Word of the Morning

A few months ago…

Mercy…I prayed and asked God to give me a “word” every day. My morning devotions are not structured around a reading schedule, or a book that collects thoughts from others. Rather, I trust God to give me something. Special. Just for me. For today.

He has not failed in over 3 months!

This morning it was a simple thought of “mercy”…

“…compassion or forgiveness shown toward someone
whom it is within one’s power to punish or harm…”

It’s in my power to punish or harm, and I extend compassion or forgiveness. A search through my memory banks pointed me to some times that I extended mercy to someone, and equally when mercy was extended to me. It is often easier to accept someone’s act of mercy rather than be the dispenser of the same.

Bartimaeus was the son of Timaeus, which comes from a comparable word that means “…foul, or polluted…” This man was the son of a man without a good name! And he was blind. Unable to enter the temple, or to fellowship, or to have active employment. Upon hearing that Jesus was coming by, the masses crowded to the edge of the highway, and yes, there was Bartimaeus.

His ability to compete with others for the attention of Jesus may have been limited without sight, but we find he had the ability to stretch his vocal cords!

And when he heard that it was Jesus of Nazareth, he began to cry out and say, “Jesus, Son of David, have mercy on me!” (Mark 10:47 NKJV)

As people began to shush him, he only cried out more. JESUS! HAVE MERCY! Something in the cry of his voice stopped Jesus and he turned to Bartimaeus. Now those shushers became ushers….

So Jesus stood still and commanded him to be called. Then they called the blind man, saying to him, “Be of good cheer. Rise, He is calling you.” (Mark 10:49 NKJV)

Do you realize the Power of Your Need? You have the ability to cause Jesus to pause for your moment. He extends Mercy to Bartimaeus… He does not change his name, give him a job, or send him to the temple…

Then Jesus said to him, “Go your way; your faith has made you well.” And immediately he received his sight and followed Jesus on the road. (Mark 10:52 NKJV)

Faith makes you whole! Even with his mercy, it takes Faith. With the healing, Bartimaeus, what will you do now? Follow Jesus.

I’m thinking this is opposite of too many. Get what I want and get going my prior way… Not Bartimaeus. He begins to Follow Jesus! That’s a true recipient of the Mercy of Christ!

2 thoughts on “Word of the Morning

Leave a Reply

