What’s Your Brand

Last night I stopped at a local store a little later than normal.

BrandingThe place was empty, basically, and it was a good time to stretch the legs and take a quick stroll “around the aisles”… It was while walking that I started looking at the branding of various goods. Colors and shades. Fonts. Styles. Shapes. Slogans. Tags and taglines. Trademarks. Designs. Values. Monogram. Mission, Vision and Purpose Statements. Wordmark.

These were all things I noticed about the various items around the store.

Apple Logo 001For some items it is easier to identify the products by known images that we have seen for decades, and generations. Other items are equally identified by the image. Think Apple. It’s image has changed over the years, but when you see this apple you will know it deals with the company by name and image. Apple.

Branding IronThe concept of branding is old. Especially when it comes to marking something to be uniquely identified from similar things that belong to someone else. You know, like branding animals to denote ownership.

For a brief moment I consider myself, my family, my church and all the associated brands and branding efforts used to identify who I am, and what I am a part of. Every thing I am and every thing I do essentially identifies my brand. I remember a friend some years ago who used a phrase, “I’m riding for the brand” and by saying this he was indication that he was part and parcel of an organization, all it stood for, and what it’s belief and motivation was. Think about identifying yourself as part and parcel of your political party, country, or state of being.

What does your branded image say about you? If you can answer this then you have probably considered all the parts of your world that makes up your brand, i.e., language, dress, looks, home, car, job, degrees, family, associations, clubs, churches, etc…

Over the years we watch people mimic and imitate styles and selections by those who are popular one way or the other. Think about it. How many people dress the part of a popular person and then change as their interest changes to another person.

There is a favorite scripture of mine…

“…And the disciples were first called Christians in Antioch.” (Acts 11:26 NKJV)

In Antioch, not Jerusalem… They were first called in the image of the one they were “imitating”. Christian. Their brand. Their image. And much later, “Then Agrippa said to Paul, “You almost persuade me to become a Christian.”
(Acts 26:28 NKJV)

I wonder what stopped him? What stops you from adjusting your brand one way or the other? Just curious!

 

 

Leave a Reply

