How Do You Deal With Those Pesky Things?

Pesky and Annoying Things…

FrustrationThings, people, projects, broken and partly working alike. Corrupt Attitudes. Equipment that works one time, and not the next. Frustrations mount. Like mosquitoes that surround your tiny work space and you struggle with breathing – fearful of swallowing!

How do you deal with your frustrations?

It’s a good question. And we all struggle with finding solutions, and to the way we react when they show up. You know…. Some people react negatively – throwing, hitting, pounding, or even pulling out their hair. Some find a quiet place to work out their feelings in advance of impending doom. Others simply keep it bottled up and plow through the moment not taking into account their health issues caused by their actions.

Few have a good way of struggling through their feelings in a positive way every time. The internet has numerous solutions, often numbered by 3, 8 or even a single way to address the issue. Most of these ways deal with the “results” of situations, and while not bad, I would much rather look at ways to prevent frustrations from striking a blow. This often means thinking about how we should handle potential problems in advance of their occurrence.

I even jokingly say that we often “drop 10 and punt” because there is no easy solution to our situation. Still. That’s not the solution to every thing!

A long time ago I had a class that taught me a principle that helps, at times. It works as long as you look ahead, plan for the pitfalls, and be prepared to react to them appropriately. I jokingly called them the “5 P’s to Success”. Then, holding up my hand with fingers displayed, I would roll through these 5 things like I was playing a roll on the keyboard.

“Prior Proper Planning Prevents Problems”

Of course, these only work if you start off a project with them in mind – because, if you end up on the receiving end of a poorly planned event then rolling through my fingers, and uttering the phrase above, I would remind myself that the lack of planning probably created my frustration!

I even found a place in scripture where Paul talks about his intention to go somewhere, but he might not have planned appropriately!

“And in this confidence I intended to come to you before, that you might have a second benefit—to pass by way of you to Macedonia, to come again from Macedonia to you, and be helped by you on my way to Judea. Therefore, when I was planning this, did I do it lightly? Or the things I plan, do I plan according to the flesh, that with me there should be Yes, Yes, and No, No?” (2 Corinthians 1:15-17 NKJV)

Even when planning for a huge event, taking full accounting of all the possibilities is necessary!

“For which of you, intending to build a tower, does not sit down first and count the cost, whether he has enough to finish it— lest, after he has laid the foundation, and is not able to finish, all who see it begin to mock him, saying, ‘This man began to build and was not able to finish.’ Or what king, going to make war against another king, does not sit down first and consider whether he is able with ten thousand to meet him who comes against him with twenty thousand? Or else, while the other is still a great way off, he sends a delegation and asks conditions of peace.” (Luke 14:28-32 NKJV)

This is sort of what I’m talking about. Look ahead and plan contingencies against the potential problems you see. The better I plan, the easier it is to handle the frustrations! The more I plan, the easier becomes to plan better the next event. Regardless, more planning makes it easier to face any challenge that comes my way…

Thinking about you!

 

Leave a Reply

