When The Load Is Heavy

Hello Journal. Got a moment?

Journal BookIt’s actually late Monday night…instead of early Tuesday morning… No. Wait. It’s actually after midnight so I guess it is Tuesday!

Part of my daily blogging habit for the past few months has been writing a major thought, a daily word, something I felt like God has given me to share. I am never at a loss of something to say, and in fact my log shows I have over 350 future posts I would like to write. The time will avail itself for every one of these ideas. Eventually.

Did you know that over the past year it seems like there have been many spiritual attacks against a lot of people. The funnel of it seems to trickle across my path. No. Sometimes the trickle is like a gush. Overwhelming. Words. Feelings. Actions. Indecision. Where next? What next? Who next? How do we handle this? Can we make the world a better place?

Every problem seems to be larger than life, and with each gush the current one seems to be bigger than the last one. Nor are the problems wrapped up in a single person, or even a group of people, as it seems to be across a wide front of people I know – close, personally, and at arms length.

It makes one wonder if there is a reason for all the problems at this particular time. Imagine with me that there are solutions to every problem we face. It may not come at the time you think it should, but there are definitely answers. Appropriate actions can be taken. And I believe in these solutions because I’ve seen this before. Maybe it’s like the ebb and flow of the tide, and problems come and go. Maybe. What if the stock market always stayed at the same pace? No lofty highs, or terrifying lows.

Here’s what I’ve learned over the years… Don’t over think the problem. Flow with them. Robe yourself with mechanisms, and systems, to handle the issues. These are probably in your personal toolbox where you’ve stored up solutions that have been successful in the past. Processes and methods that you’ve developed over the years. Tweak them to fit the current situation.

If you’ve done your homework well, then you probably have all the tools at your fingertips.

Craftsman Toolbox
Craftsman Toolbox, Circa 1969

When I was about 15, my parents gave me and my brother, Vaughn, each a Craftsman toolbox and with a set of tools. I know we were so proud of them. Vaughn used the tools as they were intended, and became a masterful mechanic and can do just about anything he wants. Me… I just used them to fix things that could be fixed by a non-mechanic. I probably still have some of the original tools. I know I have the original toolbox. Rusted. Repainted. Unused. But something I just cannot part with. Too many memories.

Over the years I kept adding to my toolbox and eventually bought a rolling toolbox. Full of tools. Some of mine. Some of dads. Some my brother got for me. Some were my granddads that I got after he passed.

Here’s my thought, Journal. You never stay just with the tools you started with. You keep improving your basic set of tools. Find the ones that work. Discard the ones that don’t. And this is like our walk with Christ. We keep adding to our foundation of tools that help us to grow and handle bigger problems.

The Apostle Peter wrote it like this.

But also for this very reason, giving all diligence, add to your faith virtue, to virtue knowledge, to knowledge self-control, to self-control perseverance, to perseverance godliness, to godliness brotherly kindness, and to brotherly kindness love. For if these things are yours and abound, you will be neither barren nor unfruitful in the knowledge of our Lord Jesus Christ. For he who lacks these things is shortsighted, even to blindness, and has forgotten that he was cleansed from his old sins.  (2 Peter 1:5-9 NKJV)

This is Peters last writing before his death. He instructs us to add to the things we’ve started out with. We all have a measure of faith (Romans 12:3) given to us by God. To that we should add the things as we need them, or in advance of needing them. Virtue. Knowledge. Self control, Perseverance. Godliness. Brother Kindness. Finally, love. With these we will neither be barren nor unfruitful. If we lack these things then we are shortsighted!

Now. If we have a full toolbox, then we also have the ability to understand what the Apostle Paul states when he sort of narrows the attention the other direction.

Finally, brethren, whatsoever things are true, whatsoever things are honest, whatsoever things are just, whatsoever things are pure, whatsoever things are lovely, whatsoever things are of good report; if there be any virtue, and if there be any praise, think on these things. Those things, which ye have both learned, and received, and heard, and seen in me, do: and the God of peace shall be with you. (Philippians 4:8-9 KJV)

We have learned, received, heard and seen via the example of someone we trust, now let’s use those insights to think better!

Here’s a last thought…  Nothing comes our way bigger than our ability to handle them. David handled handled a lion, and a bear, long before the opportunity to handle Goliath. (1 Samuel 17:37)  If it’s on your plate then you are able to handle it. So do it!

One thought on “When The Load Is Heavy

Leave a Reply

