What I Remember, I Remember Well.

What I Remember, I Remember Well…

Memory 001And what I have no memory of, well I guess I can make it up with the best of them!

I have read, studied and thought too long about where our memories are stored, and how they are recalled. We know that mental diseases causes our memories to act up. Short term disappears, and long term acts like it just happened a few hours ago.

After bible study last night, while I was assessing a few things, a song popped into my head…

Where, oh where has my little dog gone?
Oh where, oh where can he be?
With his ears cut short, and his tail cut long
Oh where, oh where can he be?

What? What caused that to pop up on my radar? I cannot even tell you the last time I heard that jingle!

Of course, with a little effort I can even pull even more songs, poems, stories and jokes from a much younger time. If I remember correctly, my younger brother used to pull out this little poem out when required to memorize a poem for school.

Naughty Soap Song

Just when I’m ready to
Start on my ears
That is the time that my
Soap disappears.

It jumps from my fingers and
Slithers and slides
Down to the end of the
Tub, where it hides.

And acts in a most disobedient way.
And that’s why my soap’s growing
Thinner each day.

~Dorothy Keeley Aldis (1896-1966)

(This was the same brother who quoted all 66 books of the bible around the age of 4… He has great memory skills!) My memory skills are not quite as good. Powerful enough to pull trivia out of my brain to win at Trivial Pursuit, yet not when put on stage, front and center. Especially with jokes!

One thing I have noted about myself is that I enjoy re-reading books because I don’t retain a lot of detail out of a good novel. So, a re-read is like finding a fresh book. After 5 or 6 times that James Michener book of 1100 pages is sort of well understood, and remembered! And enjoyed each time I read it!

About age 10 or 11, I had to memorize a scripture for use in a program. I was petrified that I would not quote it correctly, but it worked out ok.

I beseech you therefore, brethren, by the mercies of God, that ye present your bodies a living sacrifice, holy, acceptable unto God, which is your reasonable service. And be not conformed to this world: but be ye transformed by the renewing of your mind, that ye may prove what is that good, and acceptable, and perfect, will of God.  (Romans 12:1-2 KJV)

Then, of course, we are often tested with our ability to recall facts, statistics, formulas, theorems, postulates, spellings, names, dates… and the list is endless of the things we must recall. What is surprising is that we often have the correct answers! One instructor said to trust your first instinct – it’s normally right. With lightening speed our memory banks rule out many possibilities, maybe even partially correct options, and chose the best answer.

Training for correct response often means we know with “head” knowledge what we must do, and we train for correct action. However, “practice makes purpose” and if you want to retain knowledge, you must practice to ensure your training time is not wasted.

Today. Think about all the things you’ve learned and memorized throughout life. Some things may come up when you need to recite or act with the knowledge you’ve trained with. Practice. Recite it. Don’t lose it. It will come in handy some day! Trust me.

Leave a Reply

