Today Is Yesterday’s Tomorrow

Why is this important?

Pull string light bulbBenjamin Franklin says, “Don’t put off until tomorrow what you can do today.” Today is the opportunity about what you planned from yesterday. Most plans started yesterday, and today represents how well you are able to act from your plan.

Too often what we do today had an inkling of an idea yesterday. Whether right or wrong, good or bad, we seldom do anything without a moments thought about our actions. Words may gush from our quick to speak mind, but actions…well they spend time percolating in our mind.

If yesterday birthed a thought that would require action, then you had the night to sleep on it, and hopefully cooler heads prevail as you rethink your action. Like a word once spoken never returns unuttered, a deed once acted upon is a completed action.

Perhaps it’s like pulling the chain to a light hanging in the hallway – that bulb is just ready to shine and illuminate the unseen. Or that key in the ignition about to start the engine. Is the car ready to go? Or, think before you leap. Dad often taught us to inspect the waters of the creek for unseen objects under the surface before we leap off the bridge. Once you leap it’s too late to worry about what’s hidden under the surface.

Once you act or speak, the deed is done. Your thought about what to say, or do, is something your are in control of!

In yesterday’s post (Click) I referenced a scripture that has stuck with me.  Another translation made me consider it again.

GOD saw that human evil was out of control. People thought evil, imagined evil–evil, evil, evil from morning to night. (Genesis 6:5 MSG)

They “thought” evil. Yesterday’s thought produces today’s action. Living with the thoughts continually imagines greater evil. You are never satisfied with today’s action, you keep living the thoughts that only produce a greater evil. Evil. Wickedness. Sin. Keep living in the thought of these things, and they only grow and become more evil. More wicked, More sinful.

What gets planted in your mind, germinates, and produces a fruit.

But each one is tempted when he is drawn away by his own desires and enticed. Then, when desire has conceived, it gives birth to sin; and sin, when it is full-grown, brings forth death. Do not be deceived, my beloved brethren. (James 1:14-16 NKJV)

Desire. Sin. Death.

I love the words of David. Important words that helps me change from where I was headed to where I should be at.

Search me, O God, and know my heart; Try me, and know my anxieties; And see if there is any wicked way in me, And lead me in the way everlasting. (Psalms 139:23-24 NKJV)

We may never understand a deceitfully wicked heart. But God does.

“The heart is deceitful above all things, And desperately wicked; Who can know it? I, the LORD, search the heart, I test the mind, Even to give every man according to his ways, According to the fruit of his doings. (Jeremiah 17:9-10 NKJV)

God can know my heart in a way I never will. He will reward according to my ways. So, I must let God change me. Search me God. Know my heart. Cleanse me from all my sin. Point me to the righteous direction. Please God.

 

Leave a Reply

