Songs From The Past

I challenge you to memorize songs you sing today…

Song SheetsElse, they will haunt you in the future with incorrect words!

Preparing to step out with the dogs this morning, a look outside showed filtered sunlight. Probably high clouds with peeks of sun brightening the yard. The dogs are bouncing in their pen, excited they get to chase after a rabbit or two.

Then. Wham! A song of my past literally jumped into my consciousness and I tried to sing and hum the melody while walking through the yard.

Forget about the verses! My dogs had to allow me the opportunity of standing in the cool morning, enjoying God’s beauty, while trying to pull all the pieces together.

Do you remember this one?

Heavenly Sunlight

  1. Walking in sunlight all of my journey,
    Over the mountains, through the deep vale;
    Jesus has said, I’ll never forsake thee—
    Promise divine that never can fail.

    • Refrain:
      Heavenly sunlight! Heavenly sunlight!
      Flooding my soul with glory divine;
      Hallelujah! I am rejoicing,
      Singing His praises, Jesus is mine!
  2. Shadows around me, shadows above me
    Never conceal my Savior and Guide;
    He is the light, in Him is no darkness,
    Ever I’m walking close to His side.
  3. In the bright sunlight, ever rejoicing,
    Pressing my way to mansions above;
    Singing His praises, gladly I’m walking,
    Walking in sunlight, sunlight of love.

There is something timeless about songs of old. Mostly they failed to challenge you to praise or worship as modern songs, but they generally told a story from the authors perspective. And we sang them repeatedly – repeating the message of a lesson learned in the glory of God’s perfect love and delight. The author, a Methodist minister born in 1859. He gave us another favorite song from the same time period. And this is one I know entirely. Every single verse!

He Brought Me Out

  1. My heart was distressed ’neath Jehovah’s dread frown,
    And low in the pit where my sins dragged me down;
    I cried to the Lord from the deep miry clay,
    Who tenderly brought me out to golden day.

    • Refrain:
      He brought me out of the miry clay,
      He set my feet on the Rock to stay;
      He puts a song in my soul today,
      A song of praise, hallelujah!
  2. He placed me upon the strong Rock by His side,
    My steps were established and here I’ll abide;
    No danger of falling while here I remain,
    But stand by His grace until the crown I gain.
  3. He gave me a song, ’twas a new song of praise;
    By day and by night its sweet notes I will raise;
    My heart’s overflowing, I’m happy and free;
    I’ll praise my Redeemer, Who has rescued me.
  4. I’ll sing of His wonderful mercy to me,
    I’ll praise Him till all men His goodness shall see;
    I’ll sing of salvation at home and abroad,
    Till many shall hear the truth and trust in God.
  5. I’ll tell of the pit, with its gloom and despair,
    I’ll praise the dear Father, who answered my prayer;
    I’ll sing my new song, the glad story of love,
    Then join in the chorus with the saints above.

I could probably link more authors, time periods and songs together. Hope you understand! The one thing that is most important. We had song books. With notes. History. Time periods. Even scripture references. In my mind I can see these books by title, and on my bookshelves and in other boxes, these song books stand as a memorial of how we learned to sing at church.

What is a favorite of yours from years gone by?

Leave a Reply

