Do I Need My Family? Yes…

It’s later in life that we often learn the true value of something.

Family TreeWhether it’s conserving every penny against the need on retirement day, or that those extra calories you take for granted that a younger body will burn up…and you are no longer young! We often learn something at a later date and wish we had understood it better. When we were younger. Now that we are older.

Our energy level was low. The schedule has been slammed. Emergency hospital calls. It seemed like there was just one thing after another, and future time off was weeks away. We needed to reconnect. There’s something about sharing a few stolen moments of family to reignite the daily working fire. ¬†Just like my parents and sister showing up at the start of summer. Lovely time with family, playing old familiar games, and sitting around recounting the past year, and lives spent through the decades.

Energizer BunnyWhat do you do when you need to re-energize? Buy a new package of batteries? Call an old friend? Read a good book…or two? Take a long drive? Walk 22 miles? (You know who I’m talking about…) Find a quiet nook? Shut off the noise?

We all have ways that work for us… Just remember, there are others around you who need the same solace. Perhaps you can help others when you show you know how to help yourself.

There are some favored writings I turn to when I need to energize… Here’s one I’m sure you know!

A Psalm of David.
The LORD is my shepherd;
I shall not want.
He makes me to lie down in green pastures;
He leads me beside the still waters.
He restores my soul;
He leads me in the paths of righteousness 
For His name’s sake.
Yea, though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death,
I will fear no evil;
For You are with me;
Your rod and Your staff,
they comfort me.
You prepare a table before me in the presence of my enemies;
You anoint my head with oil;
My cup runs over.
Surely goodness and mercy shall follow me
All the days of my life;
And I will dwell in the house of the LORD Forever.
(Psalms 23:1-6 NKJV)

 

 

Leave a Reply

