Voices of Our Past

Have you ever heard something that gave you pause?

HearingYou know. Something familiar and your mind racked through all the minds storage paths trying to connect. Or, even worse, something strange and you cannot place it. You become uncomfortable with what the noise may represent. You look all over the house. Top to bottom. Under the beds. Behind every door. Every closet.

I’ve learned how to handle this stage of discomfort. Carry the shotgun with you, and every so often ratchet the slide!

If you have ever heard the ratcheting of a shotgun, that sound will stay with you forever!

I remember a cricket being loose in the house. You could hear him when he rubbed his legs together to make his signature sound…. Slip through the house trying to identify where it is coming from, and then he goes silent. For hours you can look, but seldom find! At least roaches take off running and you have the chance to find them!

Yesterday evening I went out to water “Emma Loves Trees” – you would just have to know my granddaughter and her tree we planted in the yard! Anyway, as I was soaking the dry ground around the root base I could hear all those frogs coming alive in the pasture. It’s almost as if they were excited for the moisture hope, and kept creeping closer and closer – but I could never see them.

A few years ago I just woke up. Bright eyed. 5:15am… Normal? Yes. But it seemed like something had gotten my attention. I do not use an alarm clock, so there was no button to snooze with. I lay there for about 15 minutes trying to determine what it was. Then…

“Tap…tap.tap.tap…tap…tap..tap.tap.tap…”

I hear the sound. I get up, and look for it’s source. Nothing. After getting up and going through my morning routine. Coffee… Cereal…. Read…. Devotion… and a little computer work, I go back into the bedroom and immediately hear the sound. I lay there for a few minutes of “quality investigation” and there it is again. About every 12 minutes or so.

“Tap…tap.tap.tap…tap…tap..tap.tap.tap…”

To no avail, I run through my mind of all the possibilities. Nothing. I did imagine I could hear my wife’s alarm clock, and the voices ranged through a twang, to a beat, to a genre, but in reality, there was no music coming from the clock radio. I agonized through all the possibilities. Nothing.

But I did stop on a thought.

In my mind of remembered noises I could hear certain voices. I can hear my parents, siblings, children, grandparents… I even recall distant and far off relatives. Their tone, inflection, style and even certain words. Their body language comes through with remembered phrases.

I even remember someone strumming on a 12 string guitar singing a song with a country twang… And she knows who she it!

And for some reason my mind rested upon a certain person – and I could not, for the life of me, imagine what his voice sounded like. I have heard him preach, sat around in conversation, and even knew when he was upset. But I could not imagine his voice in my head. His sons, yes, their voices are slightly there. But not their dad. One in Dallas looks like his dad, but I’m not sure he sounds like his dad. I can hear my mom and grandmother tell stories about him, but I cannot recall his voice. I remember being at the lake and him watching in amazement as we swam off the pier like fish…

But I cannot recall the temblor or the inflections of his voice.

As I thought about voices, I thought about the Old Testament. Long before Christ was on the scene, the bible points out scripture after scripture of mankind calling out to God, “Hear my voice!” Hear my plea, my call, my sounds of communication. It seemed all too often those voices were being referenced with complaints or pleas of mercy. Though Abraham talked with God “face to face” as I mentioned recently, most everybody else cried out to God for something they needed.

Traditionally, it is what we call “prayer”… but it is sure wasted effort when speak without listening! Beg with out praising. Demand without giving. When David was in distress, he called out to God for an answer!

In my distress I called upon the LORD, And cried out to my God; He heard my voice from His temple, And my cry entered His ears. (2 Samuel 22:7 NKJV)

God hears him in his moment of need, because knows the voice of his children! But David did not start out begging!

And he said: “The LORD is my rock and my fortress and my deliverer; The God of my strength, in whom I will trust; My shield and the horn of my salvation, My stronghold and my refuge; My Savior, You save me from violence. I will call upon the LORD, who is worthy to be praised; So shall I be saved from my enemies. (2 Samuel 22:2-4 NKJV)

When you move into the New Testament, it is often Jesus calling out to those that will heed him and it is very similar to a psalm of David:

My sheep hear my voice, and I know them, and they follow me. I give them eternal life, and they will never perish, and no one will snatch them out of my hand.  (John 10:27-28 ESV)
For He is our God, And we are the people of His pasture, And the sheep of His hand. Today, if you will hear His voice:  (Psalms 95:7 NKJV)
 

Will there ever come a time you will not be able to remember the voice of a treasured person? Sure. But you never want God to forget your voice! Nor do you want to ever, ever, forget His Voice! If ever there was a voice I want to remember it is His Voice.

One last thought, and I will repeat this over and over. Where do I hear his voice? No. To the best of my knowledge it has never been an audible sound. It’s in my heart. My mind. And through His Word. Every time I pray, or read, He speaks to me. And I know His voice!

That noise that woke me up? I never learned what it was. It just died a simple death. But it sure gave me a good thought!

2 thoughts on “Voices of Our Past

  1. PTL you’re feeling better. I recently heard another man of God say when God speaks He speaks to our spirit because He is Spirit. Sure enjoy your blog.

    Like

Leave a Reply

