What Makes You Think?

Actually, what stops you in your tracks….

Mind GearsAnd makes you think something through?

My mind works mysteriously. I know it. The things that wake me up in the middle of the night are often those things of nightmares, but in the midst of that moment something gets me to thinking. And I spend a lot of time thinking through…in the middle of the night.

Driving down the road is a good time for thinking. Mindless miles after mindless miles, enjoying the sights and letting my mind range far and wide. Working on my tractor is good thought time, even when it’s hot or rainy.

I find pictures, models and intricate pieces of machinery and wonder how on earth someone found a way to think through a problem or found a solution and built a finished product. It’s simply amazing what the brain has an ability to accomplish!

It’s in the night, and on those long quiet drives that I solve a lot of the daily mysteries.

But every so often a thought comes along and I realize there are not enough miles on the road for me to think through the thought. Maybe I do not have enough brain power or latent knowledge, so I stand on the shoulders of great thinkers before me – I turn to their books!

There are writers that know how to bring their thoughts into a beautiful story. Love. Mystery. Drama. History. Spiritual. Science. Deep Fiction shadowed with elements of truth. But most writers are deep researchers with wide ranging interests. They want their stories to portray truth. Hence, most writers are readers. But readers with an interest to learn. That requires thinking.

What is thinking? One may define it as “the process of using one’s mind to consider or reason about something.” Notice. Consider. Reason. We should always think about something in advance of acting out. Action, instead of reaction. Reaction is nice when driving and we need to respond to dangerous conditions. Reacting to something we know beyond the shadow of a doubt is false, often shows how well we have considered and reasoned through the subject previously.

I grow weary of the thoughts and expressions by extremist. Whether they are left, or right, it would seem their positions are thought out with bent knowledge and poor reasoning. I want to think like God thinks and walk like he wants me to walk.

For I know the thoughts that I think toward you, says the LORD, thoughts of peace and not of evil, to give you a future and a hope. Then you will call upon Me and go and pray to Me, and I will listen to you. And you will seek Me and find Me, when you search for Me with all your heart. I will be found by you, says the LORD, and I will bring you back from your captivity; I will gather you from all the nations and from all the places where I have driven you, says the LORD, and I will bring you to the place from which I cause you to be carried away captive. (Jeremiah 29:11-14 NKJV)

Notice the prophet shares how God has thoughts about us. Peaceful thoughts for a future full of hope. He listens when we call out to him in prayer and when we seek him, we will find him. He knows where we are and he will return us to that place where we should be.

You know what this makes me think about? I want to be more like God than ever before. There are right and wrong ways of living and thinking… Choose the right way. His way.

Leave a Reply

