Yesterday Was Day of Rest

That was yesterday…and now it’s History!

2016-08-20 06.52.08Sunday morning is not some laid back restful place, like it was yesterday. At least not for me. It is getting up and moving early so as to put some final polish on my morning sermon.

It’s making sure I have everything ready to take with me (…and still I forget things…).

Finally, when is all said and done,
I will hopefully have a few moments to self
and will enjoy the start, or maybe the end, of the day.

Most may not understand this, but Sunday is often a day of “work” for me. It’s not a day off mentality.

It’s also not what I live for as a pastor. Sunday is often the culmination of all the “stuff” of the prior week, more than it is a kick off for the week yet to arrive. Seldom is this day spent in idle contemplation, or relaxation. It is a work day… And I am totally okay with it. Since my wife works a normal job this often means Saturday is our only time off together for the entire week. We may get an evening together, here or there, but with OT, phone calls, school, etc. we are often busy with our respective duties.

Sunday follows Saturday. Saturday ends out the week. God said we would work 6 days and have 1 day of rest and since Sunday is a work day, then Saturday is our personal day of rest. And I want to obey God with this day!

“Remember the Sabbath day, to keep it holy. Six days you shall labor and do all your work, but the seventh day is the Sabbath of the LORD your God. In it you shall do no work: you, nor your son, nor your daughter, nor your male servant, nor your female servant, nor your cattle, nor your stranger who is within your gates. For in six days the LORD made the heavens and the earth, the sea, and all that is in them, and rested the seventh day. Therefore the LORD blessed the Sabbath day and hallowed it. (Exodus 20:8-11 NKJV)

I treasure Saturdays off – a few tasks to do around the house, a nice dinner with the kids to celebrate this, that and the other, and some pure lazy time if I need it.

But I love Sunday morning. I get up between 4-4:30 and begin a morning routine that is unique to me for my day. No one else needs to follow it – this is simply who I am.

Still, I love Sunday morning. The house is very quiet. The sun is still down. Nothing is moving. It’s really my time to enjoy.

Hope you love your Sunday morning!

Leave a Reply

