Never A Victim Be

Again, we have someone doing something despicable…

victim-001Wandering into a store at a mall and killing 5 people and wandering out and making a get away. Innocent people killed. Victims of a despicable person.

All night long I thought about the victims. This morning I’m learning it’s 4 females, 1 male. And countless others terrified by the action of a mentally disturbed person. I asked myself this morning, “How do we allow ourselves to become victims?”

The sad thing is that we have to learn, again, to be aware of our surroundings. Constantly on the lookout for someone who would victimize any one of us. Walk into a store looking for exit signs, just like we do when we are instructed by flight attendants on planes. The nearest exit may be behind you. Watch out for the shady personality. Stay away from indefensible positions. Flee or fight. Either is a valid option.

Through the years I know I have been a victim of a pranks and lies, threats and actions, ridicule, and even scorn. From some I once thought as friends, to a complete stranger. I have been chased down the interstate by kids who had a gun and a club while driving home from work one Saturday (I led them to the police station), and have taken a gun away from someone who broke into my house and scared my family. I have been challenged over the phone by a phony bill collector looking for a family member and threatening me with daily calls – I called the sheriff, got a reading of the law, and called him back and threatened him!

My personality has been aggressive toward those who would make victims of me and my family, but I now see we need to extend our range. Start watching out for the innocents around us. Do not allow a stranger to become a victim.

We are taught to be aware of our surroundings and to drive defensively. When learning to fly I was taught to keep my head on a swivel, looking out for other fliers, and I do this when driving my truck all the time. We should do this every time we step out into the public arena.

We need to practice how we will act when the day of threat comes.

Here’s my thought for today.

Refuse to be a victim. Look up the definition of a victim. It can be someone who is harmed or injured as a result of a crime, accident, or other action. Or it can be someone who has no idea of the danger they are in. It can even be someone who is tricked or duped, or made to be the fall guy.

Regardless, take your blinders off and start being hyper aware of what’s around you. Be ready to challenge those who threaten. Be ready to fight back when needed.

To the Christian, remember, sin is crouching at the door, and like a lion is ready to pounce (Genesis 4:7). Peter says our adversary is like a roaring lion (1 Peter 5:8), looking for the opportunity to devour. (Probably taken from Isaiah 31:4 or Ezekiel 22:25.) And when you are at your weakest, like Jesus on the cross, they are there like ravening lions (Psalms 22:13).

When you are at your weakest, or most distracted time, you need someone to come to your rescue!

But in my adversity they rejoiced And gathered together; Attackers gathered against me, And I did not know it; They tore at me and did not cease; With ungodly mockers at feasts They gnashed at me with their teeth. Lord, how long will You look on? Rescue me from their destructions, My precious life from the lions. (Psalms 35:15-17 NKJV)

When there is no one else, there is always God.

So, I have come to believe in being Spiritually Aware of my surroundings. Just like there are physical places I refuse to allow myself to be found in, there are places that a spiritually aware person can note there is danger afoot.

Take responsibility of the life you are living. Do not become an innocent victim. Be ready to be in charge of your reaction to the situation.

Leave a Reply

