What’s Your Excuse?

For some, it’s a litany of answers…a pure laundry list!

excusesHere’s why I didn’t do such and such, or go here, or there. Wait… Wait… I have even another reason.

And so the ball of wax of lies and excuses mount as you justify why you failed to be involved or committed.

I have grown weary of excuses. I don’t want to make them, and I’m not sure I’m comfortable with you making them. Excuses are the bane of the incapable and the un-leadable… Excuses fail to explain why your motivatikon is lacking, or even why you are not successful with your calling or career.

Leaders do not make excuses! They take ownership and get things done! (Read Here) An excuse only explains to yourself why you are willing to fail – and I think that’s the core. You are willing to fail. You are not willing to commit.

There came a time when Jesus turned to his disciples…his Followers…those who said, “I will follow you.”┬áBut he had some powerful words for them.

Now it happened as they journeyed on the road, that someone said to Him,
“Lord, I will follow You wherever You go.”
And Jesus said to him,
“Foxes have holes and birds of the air have nests, but the Son of Man has nowhere to lay His head.”
Then He said to another, “Follow Me.”
But he said, “Lord, let me first go and bury my father.”
Jesus said to him, “Let the dead bury their own dead, but you go and preach the kingdom of God.”
And another also said, “Lord, I will follow You, but let me first go and bid them farewell who are at my house.”
But Jesus said to him, “No one, having put his hand to the plow, and looking back, is fit for the kingdom of God.” (Luke 9:57-62 NKJV)

Can you follow him without excuse? When you say you want to follow him are you willing to go the entire distance under his leadership?

There are a number around us that do not see their walk with God as a committed experience. Today, someone has made a choice for their own activities more than for the house of God. Someone is sleeping late. Someone is running late. Someone thinks the game is more important.

Some will say that Jesus is talking to the leadership, but no where do I find these words only to those who said, “Yes. I will serve.” Rather, I find that everyone must commit to the House of God, while at the same time commit to reaching others. One way tells everyone going to God’s House is important because God is important. The other way tells everyone that “they” are important because God is important.

How you choose to live your life every moment. Every day. With every person and situation. This tells God that you are willing to follow him. Every day. Every where. To reach every one.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

