Counting My Blessings

This past week was stressful and long.

counting-blessings-001For a multitude of reasons, we knew it was coming, but you know, you cannot be prepared enough for the passing of a loved one.

Even when it’s expected.

We made it through the week with tears, laughter, great memories expressed, and that blessed thought of how thankful each of us are today. We are missing someone, but the blessing of their memory, and each other, goes a long way to making life better.

Home late at night after a day of travel, and trying to get back into a routine of normal life, I woke this morning, early as usual, and a song began running through my mind. A craggy voice does not sing it well, but a mental rumination totally nails it.

Count your blessings,
Name them one by one!
Count your blessings,
See what God has done!
Count your blessings…
Name them one by one…
And it will surprise you what the Lord hath done!

Now, this is a song of my past, and I know there are verses that describe the struggle of life that may weigh you down, but here’s my thought for the day – and I’m going to live like it matters!

Instead of noting what you do not have, be thankful for what you do have.

I’ve seen this view of life quoted often, but as you go through trials it is easy to count what is missing. Some count their problems, but I want to count my blessings. Some agonizingly count the number of missed opportunities, and this can be a stressor as you frantically consider a potential before you. Others live in terror of something new, especially when they have failed so many times in the past. Instead of facing each new day as a challenge, many want to live in the past memories instead of enjoying the uncertainty of life.

All of these can be negative experiences and we’ve seen people painted into a corners of indecision. Yet, this morning, even with all that is missing in life, I want to take a moment and consider all the blessings I do have. King David says it like this:

How precious also are Your thoughts to me, O God! How great is the sum of them! If I should count them, they would be more in number than the sand; When I awake, I am still with You. (Psalms 139:17-18 NKJV)

This past week I reconnected with family and friends, and it is sad that it happens infrequently, and only at solemn events. When you live far apart, then you must strive to make those moments you have together count. 

Soak up the minutes and let those blessed ticks of time be something to recall when future days keep you separated.

This past week I connected with people I have never known. They were each a blessing at a particular moment and I am truly thankful for each bond.

How about you? Are you starting to count your blessings? Try it. The list can be hard to get started, but as you begin, hidden blessings will raise their heads and say, “What about me? Don’t I count?”

Go ahead. Start your counting exercise.

 

Leave a Reply

