Remembering What We Have Forgotten

Yesterday, I wrote about buying clothes as a kid…

1955What I failed to remember at the time, but remember it well after mom reminded me – we did a lot of shopping via the Sears, JCP and Montgomery Wards catalogs. Mom seemed to know our measurements and at times we ordered, and other times the catalog was simply a guide for what was at the store….but it was fun to go to the stores and get some chocolate at the counter by the escalator, or look at the Hardy Boy books upstairs…Do you have a favorite memory of a store? I had two aunts (Jenny and Edna)that had old time stores in the country and each one of them had mysteries to unravel. Aunt Jenny was also the post mistress and we were never allowed behind her postal counter!

Memory: We were allowed to circle so many things we wanted in the Christmas Catalog and then number them in order of desire. Santa always seemed to know what we wanted from those magic moments!

Memory is a funny thing. I’ve commented on it previously, but there are times when we remember things after certain smells, or sights, or simply someone reminding us. Somewhere in my past I read that each time a memory is pulled into your consciousness it is modified before it is stored – i.e., colors may be sharper, people will come and go, and even the actual event may have different results. Once you forget the memory, then it is stored with the new results…

Memory: I can still hear the opening salvo of rhythmic clapping as Santa Esmeralda recorded “Don’t Let Me Be Misunderstood” in the Disco era of 1977. I’m not a Disco fan, but man… I have to simply stop and listen as that simple clapping draws me into the song that lasted for over 8 minutes.

So, memories are nice
and it is fun to reminiscence about a camp fire
as I remember many family gatherings of the past. 

But as family passes on it becomes difficult to have anyone to share the memories with. It must be sad to be alone in the world and no one to reflect on a shared past. My bride and I have nearly 45 years of memories. Shared with aging family, it is difficult to share too much with the next generation…because I remember rolling my eyes as the stories were told. Just as I know the next generation is probably rolling their mental eyes as they read this. If they read this.

Memory: Swimming at some swimming hole with the family. I was about 3, maybe 4…who knows, maybe even 5 years old. Lake Travis? Floating on an air mattress and then all of a sudden I am upside down and underneath the water with the mattress on top of me… Uncle Walter reaches over and takes it off of me… Relief!

Part of my blogging is to communicate, prepare for a particular book I want to produce, and to share how my mind is working through the stories of life. My ministry has many memories, but since it is ministry and there are few who might be interested in knowing my history with the mountains and valleys, well, I will be content to let them go to the grave with me. My life’s history has been touched by so many, and has touched even more – I would like to record them for posterity sake. There are some people out there who care to remember along with me and for that I am extremely thankful.

Memory: On the way to, or from, the grandparents, we stopped at a roadside park for a picnic. A great break on a 4 hour drive. After eating dad played with us – he would lay on his back with his knees up. We would run, pivot over his knees and he would flip us over his head… Every time we passed that park later in life I remember this one event.

For example, there was a time that I had no interest in: Education, Travel, Israel, History, Math, Music… and this is probably an endless list. But along the way someone piqued my interest about something and I grew hungry for the knowledge and experience. So, along the way of growth, I have blogged often about Education, Travel, Israel, History, Science, Space, Authors and books, My poor math skills, and my eclectic notion of likable music.

Memory: I remember Rudolf, the red-nose reindeer, going down in his story…not history. I’m sure Teresa was recently born, so this must Christmas 1958.

I’m even thinking about picking up some training for a portable instrument that I can easily take with me, you know, a harmonica or mouth harp (except for the sake of my teeth!). No. Really. Lessons in the past revolved around the piano and guitar. I have limber fingers, and no sense of musical scales – but I can pretty much single note a melody and enjoy the experience! Maybe it’s time to learn Music Theory.

Here’s the other thing that really points me outward with my blogging – there are so many things out there to take notice of, write about, reflect upon lessons learned, and then apply it to my life, or yours… It’s like reading the Bible through one time for the sake of a speed read (it takes about 77 hours of reading, as one of my memories back in the 60’s reminds me), but then going back through at a more leisurely or research pace, learning more and more with each opening of the pages, with each study of the words of life.

Memory: 6th grade. Poor teacher. Everyone making A’s. David Rhames, my best friend for a number of years, and I learned American Sign Language so we could cheat on test. Teacher caught us and separated us across the room from each other, so we learned Morse Code and tapped out our answers! Worst class of my 13 years of public school, but I learned a lot. (Algebra II in High School was the next worst year, but that’s another memory for another time.)

I never grow tired of learning. My memory tells me that. I’ve always looked for something new to pay attention to, and that’s probably why technology was always a pleasure, even when it was a chore. It was a huge changing field from my first time of really seeing a computer at work in 1971. Keypunch cards, all the way to the future of what we take for granted today. I’m only 61 but I’ve seen a ton of changes! Who knows where it will go before I’m gone?

But here’s the downside of memory. You do not want to get lost in the past. There is more than enough horizon ahead of us with life constantly changing. This does not mean I let go of my past. No. That’s my foundation. I only use it as a guidepost for my future.

That’s some good future memories getting ready to be stored up for even later years!

One thought on “Remembering What We Have Forgotten

  1. […] During middle and high school I had another friend that lived even farther away. Still, we did a lot together. His dad had a stroke and when I would visit his house (here, I think) we would sit in the living room and he would recite his day to his dad before we went on to the task at hand. Though this friendship lasted shorter than the other, I still would count on those memories describing him as a close friend. (Source) […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

