Veni, Vidi, Vici…

If Thanksgiving was all about the Turkey…

turkeyThen, I came, I saw, I conquered! (Veni, Vidi, Vici) But of course, it’s not. It’s about being thankful and I’m not so sure we capture the essence of a true spirit of thanksgiving. True, I made some phone calls, send out a few emails, wrote of blog about giving thanks…I even enjoyed some family time.

But I wonder if we made a dent in the list of those persons and places we should be giving thanks for?

Perhaps not, especially if we leave all the giving of thanks to a single day a year! But if we would simply do as we know we should, then thanks would be something we would give often and to more than just those we think about on a single day of the year.

For those of us who trust in God, then scripture admonishes us daily to bless the Lord in a multitude of places and times.

Blessed be the Lord, Who daily loads us with benefits, The God of our salvation! Selah (Psalms 68:19 NKJV)

Selah! (Think on it!) If we are to bless daily, then perhaps it is a simple action to be full of thanks! If we expect blessings daily, then should we not give thanks daily? As Paul said when he mentioned those stalwart Christ followers in Colosse:

Our prayers for you are always spilling over into thanksgivings. We can’t quit thanking God our Father and Jesus our Messiah for you! (Colossians 1:3 MSG)

As I think further and farther, I realize that I need to be thankful of every person that comes into my life. I thank the store clerk who opens up a new line, giving me a quicker exit from the store. I wave thanks to the person who let’s me slip out of the parking lot and into the line of traffic. I quickly thank the server for taking good care of my order. I so appreciate and give thanks when possible for good neighbors.

News Flash: Jesus even puts a truth to work in this concept! 

“Give, and it will be given to you: good measure, pressed down, shaken together, and running over will be put into your bosom. For with the same measure that you use, it will be measured back to you.” (Luke 6:38, NKJV)

Get my drift? Let’s move into a realm of quick thankfulness…and doing it quickly…and often! It does make the world a better place!

 

Leave a Reply

