Camouflage Monday

Black Friday to Cyber Monday…How about Camouflage Monday?

A few days of downtime, in the mountains, surrounded by snowy peaks, and enjoying a gas fire (no wood to burn here). Cozy. Comfortable. Wishing this was life all the time. Other than chalets surrounding the middle park-like setting, the fake creek running through keeps the snow level low as the world slowly drops into a deep freeze.

I woke as it was getting light outside. Late for me, typically, but we were exhausted driving here with crazy holiday drivers, wind, rain and falling snow. Peeking out the blinds I see shapes blended into the snow, grass, trees and lightening skies.

Whoa! I know that shape. Deer! A sub species of the Odocoileus hemionus, or the Mule Deer as it is more commonly known. In Alaska it was simply the Sitka Black Tail deer.

We’ve been here before and these deer are the infamous almost gentle hand fed cousins of the wild deer that drives hunters crazy! Yes… I’ve been one of those hunters, and will probably be again. But in this setting of bliss, their camouflage allows them to comfortably blend in to the surroundings.

home-base-umpire-safeSafe! I can hear the umpires call as the deer enjoy their place of peace and safety. Then, I read my email and a note from mom tells me of a good friend of my teenage years passed away, the day before Thanksgiving…Last week. His ultimate “Safe” has arrived. He made it through life as an adoring husband, loving father, and a great granddad to his 6 grand kids… Safe! Gordon! Safe!

Life is a camouflaged journey from beginning to it’s ultimate ending. The real “you” never fits in to all the roles you play. You learn to camouflage yourself so that you can work, play, and love with all your heart. So, along the way we learn to blend into the responsibilities we choose to carry, and those that are handed off our way. Our titles and jobs come and go, but to those who know us the longest we see the changes that life brings and how we slip into that new role. One day, or moment, you are in the role of father, and then a phone call moves you to another role, and then the family calls and you blend into an even different version of you.

Teen, to young adult. Single to married. Father to grandfather. Alive to gone.

Through the years we lose contact with those snippets of time when life puts you into a new game and you have to learn how to blend in…again. Then an email floods your memory of times gone by and you realize the “real you” that has adapted through the years is still the “real you” that you wished had never gone into hiding.

These writings of father and son came to me as I was reminiscing this morning. These are my morning devotion. I hope they speak to you as you examine your camouflaged life in the world around you. Camouflage helps us to fit in, but do not forget who you are, and why you are here.

  • You are my hiding place and my shield; I hope in Your word. (Psalms 119:114 NKJV)
  • The name of the LORD is a strong tower; The righteous run to it and are safe.  (Proverbs 18:10 NKJV)
  • The LORD is my rock and my fortress and my deliverer; My God, my strength, in whom I will trust; My shield and the horn of my salvation, my stronghold. I will call upon the LORD, who is worthy to be praised; So shall I be saved from my enemies. (Psalms 18:2-3 NKJV)

So long…Gordon…

 

Leave a Reply

