If We Knew What Tomorrow Held…

What would you do if you knew what was in store tomorrow?

tomorrowWe understand that yesterday is history, today is present and tomorrow…well, what does tomorrow hold for any of us? This is the scary part about life, or it is one of the most exciting things we can think about… Tomorrow.

I love this song from Ira Forest Stanphill (1914-1993), circa 1950 – 5 years before I was born, and I love to hear the pure voice of Alison Krause singing it.

I Know Who Holds Tomorrow

I don’t know about tomorrow
I just live for day to day
I don’t borrow from the sunshine
For it’s skies may turn to gray

I don’t worry o’er the future
For I know what Jesus said
And today I’ll walk beside Him
For He knows what lies ahead

Many things about tomorrow
I don’t seem to understand
But I know who holds tomorrow
And I know who holds my hand

Ev’ry step is getting brighter
As the golden stairs I climb
Ev’ry burden’s getting lighter
Ev’ry cloud is silver lined

There the sun is always shining
There no tear will dim the eye
At the ending of the rainbow
Where the mountains touch the sky

Many things about tomorrow
I don’t seem to understand
But I know who holds tomorrow
And I know who holds my hand

Not that I have a “devil may care” attitude, but if I simply live my best today, then I’m as prepared as I can be for anything that happens tomorrow.

On this day, December 10th, these represent all the things that happened in the past.

  • 1520 – Martin Luther publicly burned the papal edict. The papacy demanded that he recant or face excommunication. Luther refused and was formally expelled from the church in January 1521.
  • 1830 – Emily Dickinson was born in Amherst, MA. Only seven of her works were published while she was alive.
  • 1851 – American librarian Melvil Dewey was born. He created the “Dewey Decimal Classification” system.
  • 1901 – The first Nobel prizes were awarded.
  • 1915 – Ford builds its 1 millionth car
  • 1920 – The Nobel Prize for Peace is awarded to U.S. President Woodrow Wilson for his work in ending WWI and creating the League of Nations.
  • 1964 – In Oslo, Norway, Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. received the Nobel Peace Prize. He was the youngest person to receive the award.
  • 1967 – Otis Redding and his band die in a plane crash in Wisconsin
  • 1970 – The trial for Lt. William Calley murder trial began. (You should refresh your memory about this.)

On this day, my Facebook contained these posts.

  • 2015To Be or Not To Be
  • 2012 – “Cats are intended to teach us that not everything in nature has a purpose.”  ~Garrison Keillor

And a choice 12/10 scripture…

Be kindly affectionate to one another with brotherly love, in honor giving preference to one another; (Romans 12:10 NKJV)

Therefore I take pleasure in infirmities, in reproaches, in needs, in persecutions, in distresses, for Christ’s sake. For when I am weak, then I am strong. (2 Corinthians 12:10 NKJV)

Leave a Reply

