It’s Friday, Right?

This is a usual question I have in my toolbox to begin an avenue of conversation…

december-2016“Hello. How are you doing? Welcome to _________” is often the question…to which I reply, “It’s Friday, right?”

For the most part, and for many workers, Friday is the end of the work week. My bosses, bosses, boss (a few decades ago) remembers that engineers in his company came in on Saturday and worked till noon. Their weekend was shortened by that Saturday morning demand and commitment. During my IT years, Friday night was often looked at as, “at least you have the whole weekend to finish the processing before Monday.” But with the internet access to data, there is little time to have work left unfinished.

So. When you get to the end of your work week you understand that next Monday the majority of your work left undone will still be there. Waiting on you.

There are several things I remember about Friday during my younger years, hence, Friday has special memories for me.

  1. At school, no red meat was served due to religious rules from the Catholic church. As this was the day of Crucifixion, the church mandated that no land animals could be eaten, but fish was okay. So… Fish Sticks Ruled!
  2. Friday night lights! High School football games! I was not a player (bad knee), but I sure enjoyed traveling and being a school photographer, alternately riding on the football, band or drill team bus. I remember enjoying the drill team bus the most!
  3. This was the one night we could stay up late as Saturday was the only day of the week you could sleep late. It was also the main night we could have friends sleepover. I remember a TV show called “Weird” that showed the old B&W scary movies…a great way to end out a scary week!
  4. If we were headed to the country, then Friday was the travel day after mom and dad finished their work, often arriving after dark.

So much for my past Friday memories! On this date in History, December 16th, these represent the events that mean something to me.

  • 1770 – Composer Ludwig Van Beethoven was born.
  • 1773 – Nearly 350 chests of tea were dumped into Boston Harbor off of British ships by Colonial patriots, commonly called “The Boston Tea Party”. The patriots were disguised as Indians. The act was to protest taxation without representation and the monopoly the government granted to the East India Company.
  • 1775 – Jane Austen was born.
  • 1912 – The first postage stamp to depict an airplane was issued was a 20-cent parcel-post stamp. (Just think…airplanes were so new!)
  • 1917 – Arthur C. Clarke was born. (One of my early favorite Science Fiction writers.)
  • 1944 – During World War II, the Battle of the Bulge began in Belgium. It was the final major German counteroffensive in the war. (I personally know two soldiers who served in the Army during this battle. They are both deceased, but I sure love talking to them about their experiences.)
  • 1971 – Don McLean’s eight-minute-plus version of “American Pie” was released. (I have this version)

On this date, my Facebook posts went something like this…

  • 2015 – No Room: a blog about the birth of Jesus, and a cantata I sang in during my early teen years.
  • 2014 – “It is difficult to do right to something done wrong. David said “Do what is right as a sacrifice to The Lord and trust The Lord.” Ps.4:5 NCV ~TFTenney
  • 2011 – Over the past two weeks I have driven nearly 60 hours, approximately 3200 miles, been in 4 states, crossed at least 4 mountain passes, stayed at 6 different hotels, eaten way too many meals behind the wheel, bought gas from 3.22 to 4.19 per gallon, said goodbye to an uncle and hello to a granddaughter, seen both of my kids families, and best of all enjoyed time with my wife! It’s been a blessed couple of weeks. I am now at home, grading my last papers for class and posting grades in the morning…. Preparing for Sunday service and banquet… Enjoying the pets!

Finally, a favored 12/16 scripture.

Be of the same mind toward one another. Do not set your mind on high things, but associate with the humble. Do not be wise in your own opinion.  (Romans 12:16 NKJV)

 

 

Leave a Reply

