The Weekend Before

We all know this weekend….

christmas-bellsIt’s the madcap paced weekend to finish up all the loose ends before Christmas arrives. Retailers are looking for miracles. Families are looking for peace. For some, it’s overloaded with parties, kids leaving school and needing someone to watch over them, and plenty of questions about having enough money and time to do everything that needs to be done.

Remember…. Christmas trees and decorations come down in 9 days!

My morning view is slanted this week. With little left to do for family, there is plenty left to do for church. My morning routine was approached quickly, and then I had a thought about the times we are living in as I saw a twitter message from a friend I follow. It was news program posting about the suffering in Aleppo and how the children have nothing left to cry about. I posted my own thought about this morning in Twitter and Facebook.

aleppo-news-001You can spend your morning looking at the bad in the world (plenty do), or spend some time praying for those suffering (plenty don’t).

Remember, it’s not always nice in your world, but we should be thankful it’s not worse! Now. Think about those who are suffering and spend some time praying for them. Now. Take some action. Support those agencies that are sending doctors and relief to the hurting. Do not let those suffering exist without hope.

As you come back to your daily focus, keep your heart set on making the world a better place for others. From a cousin of mine back in Texas, this posting makes a great deal of sense during this time when most are hungry for “things” and “gifts” that represent something valuable. It may not be her original post and maybe it makes sense for you to share similar sentiments. Anyway. Thanks, Jody.

My children each year ask me the same question. After thinking about it, I decided I’d give them my real answer:

What do I want for Christmas? I want you. I want you to keep coming around, I want you to bring your kids around, I want you to ask me questions, ask my advice, tell me your problems, ask for my opinion, ask for my help. I want you to come over and rant about your problems, rant about life, whatever. Tell me about your job, your worries, your spouses, your kids, your fur babies. I want you to continue sharing your life with me. Come over and laugh with me, or laugh at me, I don’t care. Hearing you laugh is music to me. 

I spent the better part of my life raising you the best way I knew how, and I’m not bragging, but I did a pretty darn good job. Now, give me time to sit back and admire my work, I’m pretty proud of it.

Raid my refrigerator, help yourself, I really don’t mind. In fact, I wouldn’t want it any other way.

I want you to spend your money making a better life for you and your family, I have the things I need. I want to see you happy and healthy. When you ask me what I want for Christmas, I say “nothing” because you’ve already been giving me my gift all year. I want you.

Now. For the purpose of my daily post this month. This date in history represents thousands of years of life and living. We know so little of this date in history. December 17…

  • 1777 – France recognized American independence.
  • 1791 – A traffic regulation in New York City established the first street to go “One Way.”
  • 1843 – A Christmas Carol is published
  • 1903 – The first successful gasoline-powered airplane flight took place near Kitty Hawk, NC. Orville and Wilbur Wright made the flight.
  • 1941 – Commander at Pearl Harbor canned
  • 1953 – The Federal Communications Commission (FCC) decided to approve RCA’s color television specifications. (What??? Color TV two years before I was born???)
  • 1965 – Judy Garland and The Supremes became first artists to perform at the Astrodome in Houston, TX.
  • 1975 – Lynette Fromme was sentenced to life in prison for her attempt on the life of U.S. President Ford.
  • 1976 – WTCG-TV, Atlanta, GA, changed its call letters to WTBS, and was uplinked via satellite. The station became the first commercial TV station to cover the entire U.S.
  • 1978 – OPEC decided to raise oil prices by 14.5% by the end of 1979. (Anybody remember gas below a dollar?)
  • 1992 – U.S. President George H.W. Bush, Canadian Prime Minister Brian Mulroney and Mexican President Carlos Salinas de Gortari signed the North American Free Trade Agreement. (NAFTA)

From my years of Facebook’ing….

Now. A favored 12/17 scripture or two… (BTW, they are getting fewer as most my favorite chapters do not have enough verses to keep counting up like this!)

Repay no one evil for evil. Have regard for good things in the sight of all men. (Romans 12:17 NKJV)

And Jesus answered and said to them, “Render to Caesar the things that are Caesar’s, and to God the things that are God’s.” And they marveled at Him. (Mark 12:17 NKJV)

Leave a Reply

