Weep For the Right Reason

I believe there are therapeutic advantages to a good cry…every so often…

2017-02-20-09-44-02Not only the heart breaking sobs that come from bad news, but those solemn moments when something special happens and it causes those eyes to swell up and water pour down your cheeks. Health professionals will tell you weeping is good for you, and they have all the medical reasons to prove it…. I can agree on a different level.

Weeping frees the soul from suffering, clears the heart and mind for growing, and it keeps you connected to the plight of humanity everywhere.

crying-cody-american-indianPerhaps you remember the commercials of old that had an American Indian shedding a tear for all the pollution he found across the land. [Source] That commercial always gave me pause. I made a childhood living from the soda and beer bottles tossed out the windows down the roads of our lives. But it was a messy experience, because returnables were not the only thing along the roadsides. And, we had to clean them up before the stores would give us cash for the trade-in. (Okay, I KNOW he was not an American Indian, just a good actor…[Source])….

Back in 1987, my Granddad passed away. He had just turned 87, and was part American Indian. Just saying…. He was born in 1900. They were coming over to our house for dinner that evening. Granddad was going to help me understand the intricacies on how to hang a new front door. But Grandmother called mid-afternoon. “Mike, it’s Grady.” She was weeping. I was out of the house in a flash, and 10 minutes later in their driveway… First to arrive. He’s gone. Passed. But with a good testimony I’ve shared before. Over those next few days I could not find time for tears. They came much later, in private, and standing at his graveside…

When grandmother passed, we were on the return leg of our driving vacation to Alaska. 1993. She was suffering from cancer and needing hospice care at mom’s house. She told us not to worry, but go enjoy our 5 week vacation. We had a map hanging on the wall with our trip marked out. Mom would be able to show her where we were. We checked in somewhere around Whitehorse and all was well, but by the time we got to Fort St John, British Columbia…just 17+ hours of driving later, she was gone. We made a mad dash, 6 hours, to Edmonton, Alberta. Mom had me a ticket on Air Canada to Houston. Arrived just in time for the flight…wrong airport. Like Houston, Edmonton had two airports…

I was mopey for a couple of days hanging out in Edmonton. My cousin, Galen, stood in my place as a pallbearer. But still, no real tears. Again. That would come later. In private. Only now, at their graveside…

When I get in my “operation” mode of handling bad news and dealing with the aftermath, I have found tears do not show up. That’s not healthy. David warns us that tears can last awhile, but there comes a time for putting them away and experiencing the joy of a new day.

“…Weeping may endure for a night, But joy comes in the morning.” (Psalms 30:5 NKJV)

Why do we feel guilty or embarrassed when tears flow? One scientist views tears in multiple ways of comprehension. Not only are they a lubricant for the eye, there is even this thought: “…tears trigger social bonding and human connection.” [Source] It’s a natural human experience. We bond with others as we share the reason for their tears. This creates human value. Since our bodies were made to express grief and sadness, we should not fail to deliver. We may hide our tears and pain, but as we are reminded over and again, restricted flow to sadness only makes our bodies suffer.

Over the weekend I witnessed a flag ceremony through the wonders of my computer. It gave me a huge pause to thank our founding fathers and those that sacrificed yesterday for today. It was easy to tear up, but hard to let those tears flow. We try to control them, rather than let them out.

There is a song I remember almost in its entirety from the 60’s…I think. Gordon Jensen is the author…again, I think.

Tears are a Language God Understands

Often you wonder why tears come into your eyes
And burdens seem to be much more than you can stand
But God is standing near, He sees your falling tears
Tears are a language God understands.

God sees the tears of a brokenhearted soul
He sees your tears and hears them when they fall
God weeps along with man and takes him by the hand
Tears are a language God understands.

When grief has left you low it causes tears to flow
And things have not turned out the way that you had planned
But God won’t forget you His promises are true
Tears are a language God understands.

God sees the tears of a brokenhearted soul
He sees your tears and hears them when they fall
God weeps along with man and takes him by the hand
Tears are a language God understands.

Why does this song speak volumes to me? It must touch a chord somewhere deep in my soul. God is recorded has having shed tears himself, so for us to shed our own must bring him to tears also. Here’s a thought…It’s a bonding time. He weeps along with you, takes you by the hand, and you bond with each other. This is probably why tears are good in church. You are bonding with God.

The psalmist understood tears. Weeping. All night long. In the midnight hour.

  • You number my wanderings; Put my tears into Your bottle; Are they not in Your book? When I cry out to You, Then my enemies will turn back; This I know, because God is for me. (Psalms 56:8-9 NKJV)
  • Those who sow in tears Shall reap in joy. (Psalms 126:5 NKJV)

And after that night of weeping…refresh yourselves with this thought. This hope.

This I recall to my mind, therefore have I hope.
It is of the LORD’S mercies that we are not consumed,
because his compassions fail not.
They are new every morning:
great is thy faithfulness.
The LORD is my portion, saith my soul;
therefore will I hope in him.
(Lamentations 3:21-24 KJV)

Leave a Reply

