Memories Good, Memories Not So Good

How do you remember …

Things? 

People? 

Situations?

Awkward moments?

You often choose to remember in the light of a recalled focus.  

Focus on the good and you will probably store away the treasured moment to be the very first thing you recall. The next time. 

But if everything you focus on is the negative, you would probably do well to pull out of that arena of memory!

This thought, and the fact that I was sitting underneath my favorite artist, Byron Birdsall, forced me to consider the handiwork of a craftsman.  

These particular thoughts rattled out of my brain. 

  • Did he ever toss a project to the refuse pile because he was unhappy with the results?
  • Did he start over after a mistake, or was he able to massage the error away under a glob of paint?
  • Did he ever grow weary of painting? Making prints? Having signing sessions?
  • Was he ever happy not giving the task his best?
  • Was there a favorite theme? Since his focus was Alaska, where did he find his most joy?
  • Was he ever a critic of another painters work, or did he simply enjoy their work as talent presented?

I may never know his answers.  He passed away a few months ago. 

But I know human nature.  A zebra never changes his stripes, so, for me a negative memory has a hard time of ever becoming good! Past that truth, the biggest problem of memory is not someone else’s problem. It’s mine. 

How do you handle it?

I must work hard to have God-like qualities to remember it no more.  

As far as the east is from the west, so far hath he removed our transgressions from us. (Psalms 103:12)

But God has powers I do not have, and can not understand. So, except for his promise to me to see me through everything, I would fail miserably. 

This I recall to my mind, therefore have I hope. 22 It is of the LORD’S mercies that we are not consumed, because his compassions fail not. 23 They are new every morning: great is thy faithfulness. (Lamentation 3:21-23)

Thank you, Lord.  I needed this today.  

Leave a Reply

