How Do You Think, Deeply

What is your process when you focus on thinking…?

Listening to a news report this morning… President George Bush has produced a new book called, “Portraits of Courage” where he details the backstory of selected vets, with his personal painting of them. 

And I thought a shallow thought, as I’m sure many will do. 

Then I paused, and started to listen to the words of the story and realized, again, that with every story there is a unique backstory. And with every thinking moment, listening, analyzing, comparing to perspective, and bringing up my own unique method of reading the story between the lines, I realized that the story is a very deep story.

And the news can only cover it as a surface story due to time limitations, and the fact that many of the questions asked were meant to solicit a response that will be a separate news story in and of it self, for their own reporting needs.

I have a contact who does not know how to read anything quickly. It seems he analyzes every word, thought, sub-thought, and attempts to put it all in context of the paragragh, section, chapter and full story. When he has finished, he believes that he has a deep understanding of the story.

Not me. I’m a surface reader. I glean quickly, move through the pages rapidly, and have a high level understanding of the story. Until something grabs my attention… Then I’m like a submarine. Go as deep as the thought will allow!

Sunday, a preacher friend shared his message with the church, and every time I hear him I realize that the scripture has a huge deep story that we often fail to grasp. Why? We don’t take the time to think something through. The names of the places, mountains, tribes, even a country – they all have a sub-story of meaning. 

We take it for granted that Washington State is the only state named for a president, and Texas may mean “friendly” but it also a restatement of earlier languages long before the Spanish occupied the land. There’s history to the word that we seldom ever take the time to research. Go ahead… Look it up. Texas comes from the Caddo Indian word “teshay” – essentially means “friendly.”

I love research

When I’m not reading for entertainment, or attempting to get a high level look at the book, then I love to research every historical portion a single sentence may contain. 

“There’s history in them there words!”

Leave a Reply

