Pete, and, of course, Repete

No! It’s not a misspelling…

Even though WordPress does not always have a great spell checker.

You remember that old word joke that could irritate everyone around you?

Pete and Repete, sitting on the fence. Pete fell off, who was left?

Then a never ending repeat of the little word ditty would go until you got tired of saying it, or hearing it.

Over the past years of writing my blog, my mind has shared many thoughts with the reading world. I seldom know who is reading, unless they indicate by rating my blog, sharing a thought, or flagging something from one of the social platforms they belong to.

To my readers, I sometimes feel like Pete and Repete… There might be nothing brand new to tell every time you read, but I do know this, God has never failed me in having something to say that approaches some tired subjects from a different perspective.

Perhaps this is true with all of us. We have nothing new to share, especially to the audience that hears us over and again. And, we all know that details may change with each telling. We embellish, repeat so many times we add new details that may, or may not, have been part of the original event. Tell it often enough and it becomes fact in your mind.

The facts may not be the same as the original event.

It’s sort of like that game where you repeat a complex story in secret to the next person in line. By the time it makes it through the 40th iteration, it has become so distorted that the original teller may not recognize it all.

But as with the parables and stories that Jesus shared in scripture, we also learn that stories can be manipulated for the purpose of relating a principle.

Each repeating of the parable may have been from a different perspective, or even for a different audience.

My brother and I were watching a Red Skelton standup comedy routine on YouTube last night. It was obviously somewhere in Canada, because he related several times the differences between the US and Canada.  Some jokes or stories do not work with other countries or cultures, so you modify the repeat for the audience in front of you.

Regularly I have folks from other countries reading my blog. It may be a simple Google search on their end that leads them to my blog! And much of what I share may not make sense in other portions of the world, but it does not stop me from sharing. From different perspectives. Hopefully something will break through and reveal something new. From a different viewpoint. Alternate perspective. For someone. Somewhere.

Leave a Reply

