Motivation, Oh, Motivation

Motivation, Oh, Motivation…

What motivates you to face your day? What challenges you to focus on your success? What prompts you to consider your next step? What keeps your heart pumping? Adrenalin flowing? Feet to the fire?

Good questions, I’m sure, but to the person who is already motivated, well, the rest of us are left in their dust. They have already moved on to their next moment of time and we are scratching our heads, “Where did they go?”

It must be difficult for motivated people to connect with the rest of us. How do you have a deep and strengthening conversation with someone when they are standing still and you are moving at the speed of Mighty Mouse?

Can you ever catch up on your motivation lack and get back in the game?

Think about Wile E Coyote…
Every time he tried to stop the Road Runner
He was doomed to fail.
But he kept trying.

I think there is a clue to our personality found in Mr Coyote. We often fail to keep trying after we have failed one too many times. We change our perspective and slide into the primordial ooze of just getting by, day by day, year by year. Too many failures. Too many times of not getting back up again. Too many times being knocked over by consistently heavier loads, and eventually succumbing to the weight of a feather.

Solomon tells us that a righteous (lawful) man may fall seven times, but his personality is to keep getting back up again. (Proverbs 24:16) Regardless of the trip that may have sprawled us across the yard, the pursuit of just rewards should prompt us back to our knees, and then with a groan, stand back up again.

There is nothing wrong with realizing you are chasing the wrong dream, you know, like Don Quixote fought windmills thinking they were giants. It’s what you do with the realization that is important. Shake yourself from chasing the wrong thing, pick a better target, and Charge!

Every successful person knows this. You cannot be defeated by failures or the recurring knockdowns, unless you have a quitters attitude.¬†You have to get back up and get back in the race… I learned this from Frank Sinatra singing “That’s Life“.

I’ve been a puppet, a pauper, a pirate
A poet, a pawn and a king
I’ve been up and down and over and out
And I know one thing
Each time I find myself flat on my face
I pick myself up and get back in the race

That’s Life!

And another important thought. You may have to reinvent yourself for the challenge. I’ve changed my flow of life several times to adapt to the changing and challenging landscape. I’m always ready to learn something new and prepare my path accordingly.

Remember, your future is based on what you do today… Not tomorrow.

2 thoughts on “Motivation, Oh, Motivation

  1. Great thought. Since, I do not know how long I will live, all I can say is most of the life I have lived, I thought I was going in the correct direction, even tho each path led to a dead end. Finally, I stopped, and evaluated my talents and how I was using them. At 65 years, I took a blank sheet of paper and laid out a plan for the rest of my life. It’s going to be Wonderful!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

