My Mind Seldom Quits

My Mind Seldom Quits:

(Please, Click for Audio)

2017-06-30 07.11.30It’s something I’ve learned of myself, and maybe it’s more noticeable to me as I age, but it’s harder and harder to turn my mind into mush so I can enjoy rest. Like, an all night restful sleep. Or, have a total focus on a single topic instead of ranging far and wide and thinking 100 subjects.

It’s not that I’m distracted, but I’ve learned how my mind works and without some powerful focus techniques I can easily head off into a hundred different ways. And enjoy the journey!

“People think focus means saying yes to the thing you’ve got to focus on. But… it means saying no to 100 other good ideas.” ~Steve Jobs

That troubles me… Saying “no” to 100 other good ideas. Yet, somehow, we must bring “into captivity” every thought (2 Corinthians 10:5). Except, and this is powerful for me, if I don’t think these thoughts, then what will I lose, or what will never be thought of by anyone else?

Where do these unbidden thoughts rest until someone thinks them?

Yesterday evening, at the ending of a particularly long day, and after completing a much needed conference call, I was sitting on the porch and checking out some of my news sources. Playing catch-up with the day. You know, making sure I don’t miss anything before it’s time to crash for the evening!

I was distracted by all the bird varieties hanging around in the trees. Squawking. Flapping. Settling down for the night. Birds that cannot be seen for the denseness of the trees. But they let me know they are there. The dogs wishing for one more run. That far off engine running as someone does one last chore before the sun’s totally gone. That plane heading for the airport a little lower than normal. Do the plants need water. Gotta destroy some weeds in the morning. The coolness rises from the ground as the sun beams filter through the last tree line…

Does anyone think like this? Or am I unique.

Not to read too much in this, but it’s almost as if I can imagine King David of Israel fame…young lad, out in the fields, guarding his flock of sheep. The idleness of time fills his brain with stored thoughts for future psalms. Perhaps he strums his harp through out the night, gazing at the stars and imagines:

To the Chief Musician.
On the Instrument of Gath.

A Psalm of David.
O LORD, our Lord,
How excellent is Your name in all the earth,
Who have set Your glory above the heavens!

Out of the mouth of babes and nursing infants
You have ordained strength,
Because of Your enemies,
That You may silence the enemy and the avenger.

When I consider Your heavens,
the work of Your fingers,
The moon and the stars,
which You have ordained,
What is man that You are mindful of him,
And the son of man that You visit him?

For You have made him a little lower than the angels,
And You have crowned him with glory and honor.
You have made him to have dominion over the works of Your hands;
You have put all things under his feet,
All sheep and oxen— Even the beasts of the field,
The birds of the air,
And the fish of the sea
That pass through the paths of the seas.

O LORD, our Lord,
How excellent is Your name in all the earth!
(Psalms 8:1-9 NKJV)

The beauty of these few words make me want to rethink my evening, my thoughts and how I share the ruminations of my mind. But if there is no one to ever hear me speak them, then maybe my blog will last long into the future and others will be enlightened by the words.

Leave a Reply

