What’s On Your Radar?

What’s On Your Radar? (Click for Audio version)

I suspect that we all have things on our radar that are out of sight of everyone else around us. You know what I’m talking about. Our Goals. Objectives. Focuses. Likes. Dis-likes. Things we love, and things we hate. Even far off future things that are beyond the curve of our active perspective and vision.

What’s Radar?

Radar is a rather recent invention. It came to be an important tool during WWII… 1940-45. Yes… It’s one of the great technologies that came into being before I was born! Now, I’m not sure what other countries may call it, but it is an acronym and comes from: “RA(dio) D(etecting) A(nd) R(anging)”… Does it actually use Radio signals? I’m not sure how it works, but I do know there are powerful machines out there that can see much farther than I can detect. And with each generation, they are getting more powerful!

My dad worked with Radar during the early 1950’s and was stationed in Germany for a while at a Radar Station. In my mind’s eye (another sensor!) it’s like seeing through and past things to give fair warning of hidden dangers.

Today, we are so used to Weather Radar showing us what’s out of view and helping us to decide how we need to respond to changing conditions. That’s a blessing!

Or how about this one!

“Mom’s know!” is a favored response to kids question, “How did you know?” Women’s intuition is what I’ve always heard it called. It’s almost like they have eyes in the back of their head, or little voices whispering all the secrets of what their children are doing! Regardless, my bride is important to me and I’ve learned to listen closely to her insight.

Remember bats? You know, those flying creatures of the night who sleep upside down all day long? They have a similar ability to radar, only we liken it to Sonar. “SO(und) N(avigation) A(nd) R(anging)”  Like submarines, they navigate by sound, and steer based on the response of the signal they emit. Echolocation is another word for it. Even those creatures that are “blind as a bat” seldom fly into anything and are able to hunt bugs all night long using echolocation.

What’s my thought this morning? There are too many to number, but let me share with you two major points.

First. Were you to blindly walk through life without some sensor keeping you informed of what’s possibly around the corner, or over the next hill, or through the valley you’re facing, then I wonder how any sane person makes it through life! Every challenge faced could be a heart-stopping shout of “Surprise!” and either you would fight, or flee, or flop over dead from the constant barrage “what’s next?”.

My bride and I are always completing the thought of the other or stating something that the other was thinking about. It’s like we are in tune with the mind and will power of the other. We are closely in tune, and through the years we have been connected, then no longer does “surprise” happen without one or the other being somewhat aware of “what’s next?”.

Along the same line, I’ve learned to be spiritually aware of what’s happening around me. It’s not something supernatural or spooky! Rather, it’s the Holy Spirit that is there to lead and guide me into all things. Jesus describes it like this:

However, when He, the Spirit of truth, has come, He will guide you into all truth; for He will not speak on His own authority, but whatever He hears He will speak; and He will tell you things to come. (John 16:13 NKJV)

When the fledgling disciple Philip shared the news of the Messiah to Nathanael, the response was, “Can anything good come out of Nazareth?” When he met Jesus, he was hailed as “an Israelite in whom is no deceit”. “How do You know me?” Jesus said, “I saw you when you were sitting under the fig tree” which is where Philip shared the news with him! (John 1:43-51)

Toward the ending of His ministry, Jesus began questioning his disciples. “Who am I?” Who does the world say I am? They gave him various standard answers, but finally, Peter blurted out the truth, “You are the Christ, the Son of the living God.” What was the response of Jesus? “Flesh and blood has not revealed this to you, but my Father who is in heaven.” It was not a whispered answer from any man. It was the internal revelation directly from God. (Matthew 16:13-20)

In the middle of his despair, it was Job who declared, “Does He not see my ways, And count all my steps?” (Job 31:4) To which, David utters, “The steps of a good man are ordered by the Lord, And he delights in his way.” (Psalms 37:23) Along with many other references, the Psalmist understood that his personal steps were ordained by God and He was never surprised by what was just around the corner of our life.

Here’s my second thought. God already knows. Everything. And with him in the driver’s seat of my life, how I respond to challenges should indicate my faith and trust in Him. It’s difficult at times, but I’ve learned to sort of “go with the flow” and not feel so fretful about my faulty radar system!

How about you? What was the poorest way you responded to the challenge you did not see coming? What was the best? Did you learn from the poor and start responding better? That’s the lesson!

Leave a Reply

