We Do Not Know It All – How Do We Handle It?

Yes.. There are people like this!
Yes.. There are people like this!

I am fine with not knowing everything!

Also, I am fine with getting to a point where I will not care whether an answer to my question will ever come!

Additionally, I think there are people who think they know it all and make up their minds and live their lives as if they are content with their knowledge.

In fact, the follow quote probably applies to you very appropriately.

You Who Think You Know It All Are Annoying to Those of Us That Do” ~Anonymous

There is no such thing as knowing it all! Scientist, Theologians, Scholars…  I don’t care who you can name – they do not know it all…. And I’m fine with that!

A few days ago there was an article talking about the Big Bang  (Washington Post) and how excited some were at some early findings that showed when the bang happened, but how much more quickly it spread than they had ever thought possible. Of course, they need some other independent proof from other processes to prove themselves right or wrong.

I suspect this means they have no clue as to what they will find next!

One of the things I have concluded with life – there is always something new that will reveal something we did not know, and it will show how much more of the world around as that we still do not know. I am sure there is a label for this, but I don’t know what it might be…. And I’m fine with that!

A few days ago a recent skeleton was found in the Sudan that is estimated over 3,000 years old was rampant with cancer. (Fox News Report) Again, cancer is shown not to be a recent advancement due to the modern world around us, but it has been around for awhile.

When attending a Creation Seminar last year we learned how much of what science documents with the age of the earth can be read many different ways, and some of the symptoms we reference can easily be replicated and explained…. I’m fine with not knowing everything, but there is something to be said about having faith in something else I will believe everything else!

While reading a novel last week, a item came to light about an individual atom can rest in a single atom state and not be bound to other atoms to form a “product”… You know, it was not too long ago that we assumed an atom was the smallest element – yet know scientist show that a quark is smaller than an atom and is inside an atom. So, the next question is, what’s inside a Quark?

The furthest distance of space that a Human has been to is the moon, although we have sent some Voyager vessels out through the universe and one has even left our solar system. I have reported on this several times. It was launched just 3 years after I married my bride.  Still, with telescopes and computers, on earth and in space, we are peering even deeper into the Cosmos to see where it all began. That’s a long ways away from here, as my first article reference speaks to.

Today, I am listening to a lecture on Systematic Theology for one of my classes. It appears like the speaker does not know everything – and I’m okay with that. I’m not sure anyone can fully know and understand God…. And I’m okay with that!

In yet another class I am reading the “Screwtape Letters” by C.S. Lewis in which there is a perceived conversation going on between spirits to keep humans distracted from really knowing God and thus knowing more about non-God things that are safe. A statement is made that really sums up a lot of what I feel today:

“If he must dabble in science, keep him on economics and sociology; don’t let him get away from that invaluable ‘real life’. But the best of all is to let him read no science but to give him a grand general idea that he knows it all and that everything he happens to have picked up in casual talk and reading is ‘the results of modern investigation’.

Here’s what I am thinking – we often reject spiritual things and the understanding of God and His Word because we let these other observations tell us how wrong we are….

I can only say, We Don’t Know Nothing Yet… (Catch the double negative?)

One thought on “We Do Not Know It All – How Do We Handle It?

Comments are closed.