Keep On Thimking!

It’s been a long time…

img_9555Many years ago I was a mainframe computer operator for a company that produced oil wellheads. Massive valves that helped control the flow of oil at the openings of oil wells. Some went deep underwater, others simply sat above ground. We were located near the Astrodome in Houston, Texas. Back in 1977. Gray Tool Company.

This was one of the best times of my career that came as a result of other good experiences, and led on to even greater opportunites. Though I had several good jobs before and after, these few years gave me the foundation for a future in technology.

IBM 370-135 PanelOn the top of the mainframe (IBM 370/135 DOS VS/Power) was a sign that came from IBM (I think). I’ve searched for a while and cannot find a particular IBM reference, but it was attached to the mainframe near a huge red emergency power off button in the top right corner. That emergency button? If there is any environmental or electrical malfunction, you were supposed to pull the button to disconnect the mainframe from potential harm.

Think about it… I was making about $8 buck an hour and I had the power to disconnect the living brain of our company by pulling the button.

But there was a warning sign right above the button…

The sign used a peculiar font that make the word stand out, and at first glance you would think that it said “THINK”. For several weeks I would glance at it and think that it was telling me to think about my next action while at the console. After awhile I begin to look at the word closely and it actually said “THIMK”. Unless you observe closely, and think about it correctly, you would never think that it was really telling you to thimk….

Those years of seeing this sign were important. If there was something I could share with you out of this is that it is “muy importante” to spend time thimking things through. You can practice, train and rehearse so much better when you’re mind is focused. But there comes a time when you have to take all that thimking and put it to use.

Photo permited by Alexcia Shepard
Photo by Alexcia Shepard

Here’s a Key to being successful in life….

Put all your thimking to work or it does you little good.

It’s from one of my favorite books in the Bible that the Apostle Paul teaches us the same thing. Only, his words are different and better than mine.

Finally, brethren, whatever things are true, whatever things are noble, whatever things are just, whatever things are pure, whatever things are lovely, whatever things are of good report, if there is any virtue and if there is anything praiseworthy—meditate on these things. The things which you learned and received and heard and saw in me, these do, and the God of peace will be with you.
(Philippians 4:8-9 NKJV)

His word for “think” in the New King James version is translated as “mediate” – and I’m okay with the new word. Because I think that a lot of my “thimking” is really meditating. And meditating is simply “to engage in thought or contemplation; reflect.” One definition says to “…think deeply or focus one’s mind for a period of time…”.

This is something I’m generally good at. But here’s the rub: You cannot put food on the table or a roof over your head by simply thinking. My logic for “doing” becomes defined by my action of “thimking”.

Notice what Paul says in that last sentence of scripture above. The things you’ve learned, received, heard, and seen… in me… DO. Immediately after you have spent time meditating on the good things of life, DO! Thimking and Doing go hand in hand. You do not “do” without thimking it through. Make your “doing” a positive action and not simply a reaction because you’ve not spent time figuring it out.

If you have been around me very long then you’ve heard me preach and teach about this. A simple message. But it is very, very important.

One thought on “Keep On Thimking!

Comments are closed.