Now, Evaluate Your Irons in the Fire

Sometimes Life Gets Too Busy!

Branding IronEvaluating (from my last post), forces me to analyze everything that I have taken ownership of and ask… Do I need to be the one to do this?

Why? Because my schedule is Insanely busy! This does not make time fly. Nor is it the best use of my productivity. I know I am not the best when my life gets crammed with busy work.

Too many irons in the fire only makes for a great big conflagration! It takes fuel to heat up the irons. It takes energy to keep the brands ready.

Where does our fueling come from? A good meal, quiet time, decent night sleep, and probably the right kind of soul nourishment to make the day productive. 

I penned this blog a few months ago and spoke of the joy of winding down a busy week with some needed recouping time.

“At the end of a busy work week, and preparing for next week with all it’s demands, we took a few hours last night to sit on the porch and enjoy the coolness, flowers, sprinkler noises and the birds. Part of my personal recouping time is simply enjoying the beauty of the homestead. Yes, the grass is brown and some trees are in stress, but the apples are nearly ripe and the baby birds are cheerfully excited when parents bring them dinner!”

Quiet and joyful rest should be a requirement at the end of the day. Unload and unwind. No rehashing, or rethinking. Just chill….

Dinner BellThen, take your nightly rest.

The morning will come soon enough. Silence will be shattered by the clambering of tasks, like the dinner bell that calls you to the table. Busy enough will be the morrow. Simply enjoy the quiet while you can.

But the reality is that my mind will not shut down and I keep adding “stuff” to my “to do” list. It’s almost like I need a personal assistant to push these things over to! Someone who will help me organize my day, and keep me focused!

Then the ending of the day can be a quiet savor of lovely moments!

This reminds me of the most quoted psalms of David.

A Psalm of David. The LORD is my shepherd; I shall not want. He makes me lie down in green pastures. He leads me beside still waters. He restores my soul. He leads me in paths of righteousness for his name’s sake. Even though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death, I will fear no evil, for you are with me; your rod and your staff, they comfort me. You prepare a table before me in the presence of my enemies; you anoint my head with oil; my cup overflows. Surely goodness and mercy shall follow me all the days of my life, and I shall dwell in the house of the LORD forever.   (Psalms 23:1-6 ESV)

Shepherd at hand. Green Pastures. Still waters. Soul restoration. Righteous pathways. Rod and staff of comfort. Table prepared. Anointed head. Overflowing cup. Goodness. Mercy. In God’s house.

Do you have a scripture or poem for the quiet closure and slow start of your day?

One thought on “Now, Evaluate Your Irons in the Fire

  1. […] How do you handle stress? I’ve joked about it for years, but “stressed” spelled backwards is “dessert“… Not that I need dessert right now! Imagine for a moment the stresses you and I carry, and compare it to the President of the United States! Their load must be a million times harder. It’s not just 300 million people, it’s every corner of the globe! There have been photo shots of them at the start, and end, of their time in office. [Source] Go check it out. […]

    Like

Comments are closed.